HOW MOVING YOUR BODY CAN HELP YOUR HEART

We all start a new exercise program with great intentions. Then, sometimes, your schedule gets in the way. Other times, it’s simply a lack of motivation.

large red quotation marks

The first thing to do before you start any exercise routine is to talk to your doctor.

Once you get the go-ahead, here are six tips to help you stick to your exercise program.

MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH YOURSELF

Consider your workout program a commitment, just like work or school. Put it on your calendar. Stick to your exercise “appointment” like any other obligation.

BE ACCOUNTABLE TO OTHERS

It’s harder to stay on the couch when someone is waiting for you – whether it’s your walking buddy or a trainer at the gym. Double bonus: You’re also more likely to spend more time in your exercise routine when you have a friend along.

MAKE IT FUN

Join a softball league. Take a ballroom dancing class. Go bowling. In other words, take the “routine” out of exercise routine – because exercise shouldn’t feel like a chore. If you’re having fun, you’re more likely to stick with your fitness program.

MIX IT UP

If you keep doing the exact same workout routine each day, you’re more likely to get bored and give up. To prevent this from happening, mix up your activities so things don’t become repetitive and boring.

GET TECHY

From wearable devices to apps, it’s easier than ever to track your progress, see results and set goals. And if a little healthy competition motivates you, join an online community and participate in challenges.

REWARD YOURSELF

Set a goal, such as staying on track with your exercise routine for a full week or month. If you succeed, give yourself a little treat like a movie, massage or pedicure.

Remember: Everyone slips up now and again. Missing a workout or two won’t cancel out six months of dedication to your exercise plan. The key is to jump right back in and recommit to your routine – and your health!

COMMENT LE FAIT DE BOUGER PEUT AIDER VOTRE COEUR

Nous avons tous d’excellentes intentions au début d’un nouveau programme d’exercices. Mais il arrive parfois que nos autres activités quotidiennes viennent gêner nos efforts. Sinon, la motivation n’est pas toujours au rendez-vous.

large red quotation marks

Avant de vous lancer dans un programme d’exercices, discutez avec votre médecin.

Une fois que vous aurez reçu le feu vert, voici 6 conseils qui peuvent vous aider à persévérer dans programme d’exercices.

PRENEZ RENDEZ-VOUS AVEC VOUS-MÊME

Considérez votre programme d’entraînement comme un engagement, au même titre que le travail ou l’école. Inscrivez-le au calendrier. Respectez vos « engagements » d’exercice comme tous vos autres engagements.

PRENEZ RENDEZ-VOUS AVEC DES AMIS

Il est plus difficile de rester sur le canapé s’il y a quelqu’un qui vous attend, que ce soit votre compagnon de marche ou votre entraîneur au gymnase. Autre avantage : vous passerez probablement plus de temps à vous entraîner si vous le faites en bonne compagnie!

AMUSEZ-VOUS

Inscrivez-vous à une ligue de balle molle, suivez un cours de danse de salon, ou allez jouer aux quilles! Autrement dit, évitez la routine. L’activité physique ne devrait pas être une corvée. Si vous vous amusez, vous aurez de meilleures chances de persévérer.

VARIEZ VOS ACTIVITÉS

Si vous répétez exactement le même programme de mise en forme tous les jours, vous risquez de vous ennuyer et d’abandonner. Il est donc préférable de diversifier vos activités pour éviter que vos activités soient répétitives et lassantes.

BRANCHEZ-VOUS!

Les appareils portables et les applications faciliteront le suivi de vos progrès, la consultation de vos résultats et la définition des objectifs. Si la compétition vous stimule, joignez-vous à une communauté virtuelle et prenez part aux défis qui y sont lancés.

RÉCOMPENSEZ-VOUS

Fixez-vous un objectif, par exemple de respecter votre programme d’exercice pendant une semaine ou un mois entier. Si vous atteignez cet objectif, récompensez-vous avec une sortie au cinéma, un massage ou une pédicure.

N’oubliez pas : tout le monde commet des dérapages occasionnels. Un ou deux entraînements manqués n’annulent pas les six mois de travail qui ont précédé. Il est important de ne pas baisser les bras et de reprendre votre engagement pour votre programme et votre santé.